Parent Page: Academic Departments id: 22025 Active Page: Residency Programid:22040

Residency Program

The Department of Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery at the University of Oklahoma College of Medicine was established in 1910. Since then, the department has had a long tradition of training excellent otolaryngologists who have gone into private and academic practices throughout the country. 


Our Mission

"To provide an environment in which every one of our residents can achieve his or her maximum potential."


The department's faculty include physicians who are nationally and internationally known in Hearing & Balance Disorders, Base of Skull Surgery, Head & Neck Cancer, Sinus Surgery, Pediatric Airway Problems, and general Ear, Nose, Throat, Head & Neck Surgery. As well as nationally recognized Ph.D.s and professionals with master's degrees in audiology, speech-language pathology and neurobiological research.

The department trains 13 residents in a 5-year residency program. PGY1 residents spend six months in the Department of General Surgery and six months in Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery. Faculty have an active personal patient practice as well as a busy consultative service for the residents.

More than 4,000 operative procedures are done each year, which include major resections of head and neck cancers, otology and neuro-otology (hearing, balance and facial motor disturbances), reconstructive procedures, pediatric and adult ear, nose, throat, sinus, salivary gland, airway and food passage procedures, including reconstructive procedures for pediatric airway problems and endoscopic sinus surgery.

All the hospitals to which residents in otolaryngology are assigned are located within the OU Health Sciences Center. These are OU Medical Center, The Children's Hospital and the Oklahoma City VA Hospital.

OU Health Sciences Center 

The Department functions within the College of Medicine at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center, which is a 200-acre campus, located one mile south of the state capitol in Oklahoma City. This is a large complex of scientific institutions, which includes seven colleges: the College of Medicine, the College of Dentistry, the College of Nursing, the College of Public Health, the College of Pharmacy, the College of Allied Health, and the Graduate College.

The Health Sciences Center functions as a primary and tertiary health care center for the state. Referrals to the center are local, statewide, national, and international. Learn more about the OU Health Sciences Center and OU Medicine.

Oklahoma City 

Oklahoma City, the crossroads of the Southwest, is a progressive and growing metropolis. Ranking in the top 20 largest cities in America, Oklahoma City and its surrounding suburbs are home to 12 colleges and universities, the Oklahoma City Thunder, many major corporate and industrial companies, one of the nation's top zoos, the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum, and the Oklahoma City National Memorial and Museum.

Please visit the following link regarding Oklahoma City for more information about this amazing city!