Parent Page: Academic Departments id: 22035 Active Page: Research Honors and Awardsid:22038

Research Honors and Awards

2022    Received an award to become a member of Educators for Excellence from the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center, May 2022.

2021    Received the Academy of Teaching Scholars Education Hero Award from the College of Medicine Office of Faculty Affairs and Professional Development, OUHSC, June 2021.

2021    Our manuscript documenting that e-cigarettes reduce DNA repair (Ganapathy et al, 2017) has been on PLoS One's top 10% most cited articles for the past 3 years.

2019    Received the Outstanding Teacher of the Year award from the Department of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery, OUHSC, June 8, 2019.

2018    Q-PADDA was listed as one of five Next Generation Clinical Diagnostic Technologies at the 19th Annual Innovative Molecular Analysis Technologies (IMAT) Principal Investigators Meeting, National Cancer Institute.

2015    Our manuscript on tobacco-induced DNA damage (Ganapathy et al, AJPM 2015) was featured as a “landmark study” by “Action To Quit”, a national tobacco control policy program.

2014    Received the Research Scholar Award from the Oklahoma Tobacco Settlement Endowment Trust (TSET) .

2013    Our novel assay (q-PADDA) was highlighted and marketed by the OUHSC Office of Technology Development at the 2013 BIO International Convention.

2012    The award for Best Paper of the Year at OUHSC was attributed to our paper entitled “Wnt inhibitory factor 1 induces apoptosis and inhibits cervical cancer growth, invasion and angiogenesis in vivo” published in Oncogene.

2009    Manuscript “Dysregulation of Wnt pathway components in human salivary gland tumors” (Queimado et al., 2008) was featured in Journal Reviews, Journal of Oral and Maxillo Facial Pathology.

2006    Received the IDeA Symposium of Biomedical Research Excellence Travel Award to attend the 1st Biennial National IDeA Symposium of Biomedical Research Excellence (NISBRE), Washington, D.C.

2002    Received the Presbyterian Health Foundation Chair in Otorhinolaryngology from the Presbyterian Health Foundation (PHF).