Parent Page: Academic Departments id: 22069 Active Page: Residents' Awardsid:22078

Residents' Awards


Nancy K. Hall, PhD, Professor of Pathology, has served multiple roles in the areas of medical education and governance for both the Department of Pathology and the College of Medicine. Early in her career, she served as pathology course director for sophomore medical students and director of the pathology graduate program. Her success led to her various appointments as Associate Dean for Admissions, Associate Dean of Students, and Associate Dean of Medical Education for the College of Medicine. Her summer enrichment program for high school and undergraduate students is recognized nationally as being the model for biomedical research experiences for career development in young scientists. She has been recognized by faculty and students for her excellence in teaching by being awarded the Stanton L. Young Master Teacher Award and by the University by being appointed a Samuel Roberts Noble Presidential Professor. She served as Interim Chair of the Department of Pathology in 2000-2001.

This award is presented to that resident in their first year of training in the Pathology Housestaff Training Program that most closely epitomizes Dr. Hall's dedication to excellence.

Established 2000

Dr. Perry Albert Lambird was born in Reno, Nevada on February 7, 1939, the son of a family physician. He obtained a BA degree in political science from Stanford University (1958), an MD degree from the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine (1962), and an MBA degree from Oklahoma City University (1973). He completed a pathology residency at Johns Hopkins Hospital, where during the 1968-1969 academic year he distinguished himself as the most illustrious pathology chief resident in the history of that institution. He then joined the Medical Arts Laboratory in Oklahoma City and again distinguished himself as an outstanding pathologist and also displayed his talents as an administrator and manager. He became active in local and national medical and pathology organizations, serving in many capacities including President of the Oklahoma State Medical Association, President of the Oklahoma State Association of Pathologists, and member of the Board of Governors of the College of American Pathologists. Dr. Lambird had indefatigable energy and an infectious style that propelled pathology issues to the forefront locally and nationally. He was killed in an automobile accident August 26, 1999. Dr. Lambird believed strongly in pathology education for medical students and resident physicians and this award has been established in his honor to recognize annually the outstanding resident in the University of Oklahoma Pathology Residency Training Program.

Established 1996

The aftermath of the April 19, 1995 bombing of the Alfred P. Murrah Federal Building in Oklahoma City highlighted the extraordinary potential of many Oklahomans.  Among them was Dr. John R. Parker, who came to Oklahoma by way of the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Medicine where he obtained his MD degree in 1993.  He then entered the University of Oklahoma Radiology Residency Training Program, but after one year transferred to the Pathology Residency Training Program.  It was as a member of the Pathology Residency Training Program that Dr. Parker, during that difficult period from April 19 to May 6, 1995, took responsibility at the Office of the Chief Medical Examiner for coordinating the radiology/pathology efforts necessary to identify the victims of this terrorist act and gather evidence for the Federal Bureau of Investigation.  His leadership and ceaseless dedication were recognized on May 29, 1996, when he was awarded the Lloyd and Ruth Rader Trust Scholarship, which is given to the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center resident physician who demonstrates the greatest promise for an outstanding career in medical research or clinical care.  Dr. Parker donated the money from his award to the Department of Pathology to establish the Parker-Heartland Award for Excellence in Pathology Graduate Medical Education to recognize annually an outstanding pathology resident.  Subsequently, Dr. Parker completed his training in forensic pathology and neuropathology, while continuing to provide additional funds for this award.