Parent Page: Academic Departments id: 21521 Active Page: Anesthesiology Interest Groupid:24279

Anesthesiology Interest Group (AIG)



The Anesthesiology Interest Group (AIG) is a student run, faculty supervised, interest group with several purposes. It serves to promote Anesthesiology as a specialty as well as an education avenue for medical students to learn more about the specialty. Partially as a result of this exposure among the students, the OU Department of Anesthesiology receives a high status of respect and is prominent during third year rotations, externships and specialty decision making. OU’s AIG stands out as one of few AIGs in the nation that has received recognition TWICE by the American Society of Anesthesiologists, for the ‘Best AIG’ award.

The AIG conducts four to five meetings per academic year, open to the entire College of Medicine, though mostly attended by first and second year students, due to the schedule conflicts of the third and fourth year. The general format of the meeting is a luncheon provided by the group, with a guest speaker to present about a particular area or concentration of Anesthesiology. In the first meeting, Dr. Pramod Chetty gives an introductory presentation to the year, talks on the specialty as a whole, and focuses on academic medicine. Other meetings include private practice physicians, or specialized anesthesiologist. The final meeting of the year is an open forum board of MS4’s who recently matched into Anesthesiology, to answer questions for first, second and third year medical students about the match process.

To bring added value to membership into the AIG, members receive announcements for volunteering needs, research opportunities, and workshop events with the department of Anesthesiology. The AIG also works in coordination with residents and faculty to arrange for mentorship or advisory engagements.

The 2024-2025 Elected AIG Officers are:                                                                                                

  • Co-Presidents: Srikar Kommareddy
  • Vice President: Justin Stonecipher                                                                                              
  • Secretary: Eric Messick
  • Treasurer: Tavis Phan
  • Social Media TeamKayli Nail Janda
  • Mentorship Liaison: Sharon Bouvette
  • Research Liaison: Aaron Parrott
  • Shadowing Program Liaison: Joseph Kinsinger
  • Faculty Advisor: Christine Vo, MD

 Follow the OU Anesthesia Interest Group (AIG) on Instagram: