Parent Page: Academic Departments id: 22607 Active Page: Nephrology Fellowshipid:22610

Nephrology Fellowship

The University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center (OUHSC), Department of Medicine, Section of Nephrology and Hypertension provides two-year ACGME accredited fellowships in nephrology. 

The primary goal of the nephrology section is to graduate individuals who are skilled, knowledgeable, and compassionate nephrologists.  Those who complete the program will be well prepared to pass the subspecialty certifying examination and will demonstrate the analytical and procedural skills needed to pursue a career in nephrology practice.  To achieve these objectives, the program emphasizes a comprehensive knowledge of pathophysiology and clinical aspects of nephrology, including the entire spectrum of renal, electrolyte, acid-base, and hypertensive disorders as well as provides extensive exposure to inpatient and consultative nephrology in a University Hospital and a VA Hospital.  Emerging concepts of cell and molecular biology are incorporated.  Appropriate attention is devoted to the conceptual and procedural aspects of renal replacement therapy including various forms of peritoneal dialysis, hemodialysis, and renal transplantation.  Learning to analyze the medical literature is another important goal in this training program.  Trainees are required to demonstrate a high level of professionalism with regard to the educational process and patient care.  Appropriate concern for patient welfare and scrupulous ethical standards are expected.  Training is offered to qualified applicants.  Clinical training involves all aspects of nephrology as described above.  In addition, opportunities for involvement in active clinical and basic research programs exist.

The program accepts applications through the Electronic Residency Application System (ERAS).

Faculty and former fellows

Left to Right: Satish Kumar, M.D., Zahid Ahmad, M.D., Kai Lau, M.D., H. Stephen Hwarang, D.O. (previous fellow), Shehzad Bandhani, M.D. (previous fellow), Ben Cowley, M.D., Lukas Haragsim, M.D.


Benjamin D. Cowley, Jr., M.D.
Professor of Medicine, Nephrology Section
Program Director, Nephrology Fellowship Training Program
Department of Medicine/OUHSC
800 Stanton L. Young Blvd., AAT-5300
Oklahoma City, OK 73104
Phone: (405) 271-6842 Fax: (405) 271-6496

Vickie Coffman
Nephrology Fellowship Program Coordinator
Phone: (405) 271-6842