Parent Page: Academic Departments id: 21520 Active Page: Message from the Chair of Anesthesiologyid:27841

Message from the Chair

Kenichi Tanaka, MD
John Plewes Chair and Professor

Welcome to the Department of Anesthesiology at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center (OUHSC).  Our department is proud of its pioneering spirit and history that dates back to 1930s when Dr. John Moffitt initiated the four-year anesthesiology residency. Our team of physicians and advanced practitioners provide perioperative anesthesia and care, intensive care medicine and pain management consultations to over 35,000 patients each year.

Our main goals are to provide the best perioperative experience to patients undergoing surgeries, and pain relief to those with acute or chronic pain problems. We provide care as a team that includes trainees, advanced practitioners, and attending physicians from diverse backgrounds. We strive for improving our knowledge and skills through a review of our own practice data and continuing medical education.

The department is committed to educating future anesthesiologists and supporting the future of the Anesthesiology specialty. Our residents gain crucial knowledge and skills through hands-on practice, lectures, simulations, and attending national meetings.

As part of a large academic University, it is easy to envision future innovations in Anesthesiology and Healthcare at OU. Our department has a new research laboratory dedicated to hemostasis and coagulation research at the University Research Park located only two blocks away from the main office. Inter-departmental collaborations with OU Norman Campus, and Database research through the Multicenter Perioperative Outcome Group (MPOG) provide ample scholarly projects to our trainees and faculty members.

I am excited about the future of Anesthesiology at OU. Whether you are a prospective patient, applicant, or faculty, please feel free to contact me if you would like to know more about OU.

Kenichi Tanaka, MD
John Plewes Chair and Professor
Department of Anesthesiology
University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
920 Stanton L. Young, Suite 1140
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73104-5036
Tel: 405-271-4351
Fax: 405-271-2199