Parent Page: Academic Departments id: 22956 Active Page: Our Surgeonsid:24229

Our Surgeons

Urologic Oncology

Michael S. Cookson, M.D., F.A.C.S.

Michael S. Cookson, M.D., F.A.C.S.

Professor & Chairman

Academic Office
920 Stanton L. Young BLVD,  WP ​2140
Oklahoma City, OK, 73104


Michael S. Cookson, M.D. is Professor and Chairman of the Department of Urology at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center, and holds the Donald D. Albers Endowed Chair in Urology. An accomplished researcher and lecturer, he is the author of 211 peer-reviewed journal publications and 29 chapters of various textbooks in urology and urologic surgery, and has been recognized nationally for his outstanding contributions to urologic oncology.

Dr. Cookson completed his Urology residency at the University of Texas, San Antonio and completed his Urologic Oncology Fellowship at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in New York. He was a member of the faculty at Vanderbilt University from 1998 to 2013, where he served as the Vice Chairman of Urologic Surgery and Director of the Urologic Oncology Fellowship Program.

Dr. Cookson has devoted a significant portion of his academic career to the management of patients with urologic cancers, with a strong emphasis on Clinical Guidelines, Education and Evidenced Based Medicine. He was a member of the AUA/ABU examination committee for 10 years, including a member of Task for Cancer, Oncology Consultant and Pathology editor. He also serves on the ABU Oral Examination Committee. He is a co-founder of the OKAT, an SUO mandated oncology examination that is the standard for benchmarking for members and oncology fellows in training and served as Chair of that OKAT committee for 5 years. In 2011, he received the President’s Distinguished Service Award from the SUO for educational contributions. For his efforts in teaching at Vanderbilt, he was awarded the Michael Rodriquez Award.

Dr. Cookson recently served as the Chair of the AUA Guidelines Committee on Castration Resistant Prostate Cancer, and has previously served as the member of the AUA Guidelines on localized prostate cancer.  He currently serves as Treasurer for the Society of Urologic Oncology.

Academic Section(s):

Department of Urology


University of Oklahoma College of Medicine

Board Certification(s):

American Board of Urology


University of Texas at San Antonio


Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center