Parent Page: Faculty & Staff id: 21477 Active Page: Faculty Governance of the College of Medicineid:26065

Faculty Governance of the College of Medicine

Welcome to the faculty governance site of the OU College of Medicine. Our excellence hinges on our ability to foster a vibrant and diverse community and the work of the Faculty Board plays a crucial role in this regard. The Faculty Board serves as the executive committee of the Faculty of the College of Medicine, with authority to conduct its affairs in the intervals between meetings of the Regular Faculty; prepares recommendations on such matters as are deemed necessary for action of the Regular Faculty; considers any interdepartmental matters or issues affecting the College and its external relationships that require action, advice or arbitration; and acts as an executive advisory body to the Executive Dean.

All College Meetings

The OU College of Medicine Fall and Spring meetings are an opportunity for our community to hear from and interact with the Dean(s) of the College. The Dean(s) will give updates related to our learners and faculty, as well as provide programmatic updates on our educational programs, research and sponsored programs, our clinical enterprise, and our finances.

AY 2023- 2024

The 2023 Fall Faculty Meeting will be on Wednesday, November 15, 2023 from 5:15- 6:15 PM via Zoom and in-person in AAT A/B.


 View recordings of previous meetings here.



The Faculty Board

The Faculty Board meets the 4th Tuesday of every other month. Dates for the FY22-23 academic year are September 27, November 22, January 24, March 28, and May 23. The Executive Committee meets the 2nd and 4th Thursday of every month. The Faculty Board meetings are open to the general faculty. We encourage faculty who have questions or wish to have items addressed to contact their Department Chair or the Chair of the Executive Committee. 

Members of the Faculty Board

OKC Department Chairs

Department Chairs Department
Anthony Alleman, M.D. Radiological Sciences
Pamela Allen, M.D. Dermatology
Jimmy Ballard, Ph.D. Microbiology & Immunology
James Barrett, M.D. Family & Preventive Medicine
Andrei Belousov Ph.D.-Interim Physiology
Michael Bronze, M.D. Medicine
Michael Cookson, M.D. Urology
Ian Dunn, M.D. Neurosurgery
Barish, Edil, M.D. Surgery
Ken Tanaka, M.D. Anesthesiology
Robert Katz, M.D. - Interim Pediatrics
David Gordon, M.D. Neurology
Karl Hansen, M.D., Ph.D. Obstetrics & Gynecology
Jerry Jaboin, M.D., Ph.D. Radiation Oncology
Greg Krempl, M.D. ORL & Head & Neck Surgery
Britta Ostermeyer, M.D. Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences
Pankaj Singh, Ph.D. Oncology Science
William Sonntag, Ph.D. Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Michael Talbert, M.D. Pathology
David Teague, M.D. Orthopedic Surgery & Rehabilitation
Leonidas Tsiokas, Ph.D. Cell Biology

Tulsa Department Chairs

Department Chairs Departments
Boyd Burns, D.O. Emergency Medicine
LaMont Cavanagh, M.D. Family & Community Medicine
Ondria Gleason, M.D. Psychiatry
Karen Gold, M.D. Obstetrics & Gynecology
M. Timothy Nelson, M.D. Surgery
David Kendrick, M.D. Medical Informatics
Keith Mather, M.D. Pediatrics
Michael Weisz, M.D. Internal Medicine

At-Large Members

Members Departments
Harold Burkhart, M.D. Professor, Surgery
Frances Wen, Ph.D. Professor, Family & Community Medicine Tulsa
Alisa Cross, M.D. Assoc. Professor, Surgery
Blaine Mooers, Ph.D. Assoc. Professor, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Andrew Liew, M.D. Asst. Professor, Psychiatry Tulsa
Raghuveer Vedala, M.D. Asst. Professor, Family & Preventive Medicine

Ex-Officio Members

Members Departments
Dale Brannon, M.D. Director, Nuclear Medicine Residency
Chris Candler, M.D., Ed.D. Chair, Curriculum Committees
James Herman, M.D. Dean, Tulsa
Gary Perez, PA-C Director, Physician Associate Program
John Zubialde, M.D. Executive Dean

Executive Committee & Faculty Board Officers

Officers Departments
Jimmy Ballard, Ph.D. Chair: 2 year term expires 2024
Karl Hansen, M.D., Ph.D. Vice Chair: 2 year term expires 2024
Michael Cookson, M.D. Secretary: 2 year term expires 2024
Pamela Allen, M.D. Elected: 1 year term expires 2023
Ondria Gleason, M.D. Re-elected: 1 year term expires 2023
Kathryn Kramer, M.D. At-Large: 1 year term expires 2023
William Sonntag, Ph.D. Re-elected: 1 year term expires 2023
Leonidas Tsiokas, Ph.D. Elected: 1 year term expires 2023

College of Medicine Senators

Each spring, the faculty members of the College of Medicine elect representatives to key offices and committees to serve as the voice of the faculty in the governance of the school, the campus, and the university. The vitality and quality of our work as clinicians, educators, and researchers hinges in part of the quality of this representation. If you have questions or concerns, please reach out to one of your faculty senators. More information about the responsibilities and charge of these individuals and committees can be found here. The current College of Medicine Senators are: Heather Burks, M.D., Pranay Kathuria, M.D. (Tulsa), Resham Bhattacharya, Ph.D., Mark Lang, Ph.D., Kate Morris, M.D., and Xi-Qin Ding, PhD.

Let Us Know How We Can Help

Gayle Ruffin
Assistant to the Executive Dean
Tel 405-271-3223